Girl Tries Pumpkin Cookies with Maple Cream Cheese Frosting

You know when you reeeeally want something and basically need instant gratification or else? That’s me with any and everything pumpkin when fall starts. This past week, I was craving pumpkin anything and I wanted icing, so I decided to try Little House Living’s recipe for Pumpkin Cookies with Maple Cream Cheese Frosting.

What You Need:

  • 1/2 cup softened butter
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 1/4 cup flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp ground ginger

Maple Cream Cheese Icing

  • block of cream cheese, softened
  • 1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/3 to 1/2 cup real maple syrup

First things first, I made the frosting so that I could eat it.

maple cream cheese frosting

To make the icing, just beat together cream cheese and butter, then add the maple syrup (I went for 1/2 cup) and vanilla. Honestly, the frosting is delicious, but really cream cheesy. It tastes more like sweet cream cheese than frosting. If you’re not a huge cream cheese person, you’re not gonna like this, straight up.

To make the cookies themselves, beat butter and sugar together first, then add basically everything else. I’m not one for “order” and “organization.” I just wanted some cookies damn it.

pumpkin cookies

I decided to make my cookies little, so I scooped them out by hand (rustic!) and baked at 375 for 11-12 minutes. These cookies don’t flatten, because they’re more on the cakey side. This bothered me, so I smushed them down with a spoon.
pumpkin cookies

Once they were smushed down, I iced them (generously), and sprinkled a little cinnamon to make them look cute.

How I actually feel about these is kind of a toss up. They look cute enough, but they’re meh on taste. The cookies themselves are really cakey with a weird texture, and don’t taste like much. You taste the frosting more than anything, which like I mentioned before, is just sweetened cream cheese.

Given that I was in a PMS-induced sugar craving, these did the trick. Would I make these again? Probably not. It might still be worth trying the recipe for yourself- maybe you can improve it? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Don’t forget to follow @GirlTriesStuff on Twitter, Instagram, and Bloglovin‘!

Leave a Reply

