Girl Tries Gazpacho Soup

Ah, Gazpacho. Originating from Southern Spain, Gazpacho is a chilled vegetable soup with about a million variations. Growing up, I hated the stuff. The idea of a cold soup just seemed wrong, but that’s because I was like 8 years old and clearly a misguided idiot.

Now, at 22, my palate has evolved a bit, and nothing pairs better with sweltering Summer weather than a nice cold soup. I felt inspired, so I decided to make my own Gazpacho from scratch, and I have to say, it came out pretty darn good.

Gazpacho Soup

Ingredients: (Makes 8-10 servings)

  • 1 46 oz bottle of tomato/ vegetable juice (check ingredients, choose according to your diet!)
  • 5-6 tomatoes on the vine, chopped
  • 1 hothouse cucumber, chopped, with some reserved for garnish
  • 3/4 cup red onion, chopped
  • 1 green pepper, chopped
  • 1 yellow pepper, chopped
  • 2 large cloves garlic (about 1 tbsp), pressed
  • avocado, chopped, for garnish (optional)
  • 1 lime (juice)
  • 4 tbsp olive oil
  • 4 tbsp white wine vinegar
  • 3 tbsp Bloody Mary seasoning (Optional. Can also use hot sauce/anything you like).
  • Salt/Pepper to taste

I used my Ninja chopper to make this, so it was quick and easy. By using the pulse feature, you can pick if your soup is chunky or smooth. However, since the Ninja doesn’t have a huge container, I had to chop my veggies individually. If you have a big food processer, you can do this even faster.

FullSizeRender (12)
Individually-processed veggie goop

First, get a big soup pot and pour your tomato/veggie juice in, this will be your soup base. I used an organic veggie juice blend, because I didn’t want the added sugar/preservatives that usually come with store-bought tomato juices.

Then, I took my chopped veggies and pulsed them in the bullet until they were almost puree-like, but still had some chunks. Basically, I had a bunch of different colored soupy-goops, and as I processed each veggie, I added it to the soup base. Once all of your veggies are in, add your flavor. I added some olive oil, white wine vinegar (you can substitute red wine vinegar if you have that), salt/pepper, the juice of a whole lime, and then I added 3 tbsp of Bloody Mary seasoning. I used Dmitri’s brand, because it’s got lots of good flavor in it. The Bloody seasoning is totally optional, and you can substitute it with Worcestershire or hot sauce- just taste your soup as you go. I then garnished it with some chopped cucumber and avocado, to add some big chunks to it. You can also mix it up and garnish with corn or tortilla strips- get crazy with it.

gazpacho soup

Then, let your soup chill in the fridge for at least 3 hours before serving. The longer this soup sits in the fridge, the more flavorful it gets.

This soup is super healthy (around 75 calories a bowl), and it’s paleo, Whole30, vegetarian, vegan, etc. You can mix this up and make it your own- I’d love to hear your variations!

Don’t forget to follow @GirlTriesStuff on Twitter, Instagram, and Bloglovin‘!

One thought on “Girl Tries Gazpacho Soup

Leave a Reply

