Girl Tries Painted Box Frame

I’ve always been a big fan of personalized gifts. Birthdays, holidays, whatever- I love making super-personalized gifts for the people I love. For me, it’s awesome because I get to express myself creatively, and for the recipient, they get a one-of-a-kind gift. I like to think it’s a win-win.

This gift in particular, is for a friend who has decided to move from Pennsylvania, where we currently reside, all the way to Tennessee (boooo). While I’m sad to see her go, I know she’s gonna make the most of this awesome opportunity. I also can’t let her leave without something personalized/something that has my face on it.

I went to the craft store in search of inspiration, and found this cute little picture frame box. While this box is probably meant to hold jewelry, I know my friend will probably fill this with candy. That’s what I love about her.

The beauty of this project is that it’s totally unique! Seriously, if you can find this exact box somewhere else I’ll give you a prize.

I knew I wanted it to represent her and I and the situation, so here’s what I did.

First things first, I picked a picture I liked, printed in black and white, because I felt like it.

Then, I drew some haphazard version of what PA and TN look like. I then painted the box white, because my friend loves neutral colors. Pro tip: if you paint it white, you can still see your drawn shapes through the paint, making it easier to paint the outlines later.

moving away gift

I then decided to illustrate the concept of her moving in the simplest way.

friend moving away gift

Next, I had to paint the inside of the box. I mixed some paint to make this really vibrant blue, because I thought it would make a good background color for some painted sunflowers.

The reason I wanted to paint sunflowers is because when my friend and I lived together in college, she had this bright blue canvas with sunflowers hanging in her room. I would always come into her room to laugh/cry/puke/whatever else you do in college, so the idea of sunflowers reminds me of her.

painted box

After a few coats of paint, here’s the finished product!

friend moving away gift

painted box interior

Anyone else a big gift personalizer?

Don’t forget to follow @GirlTriesStuff on Twitter, Instagram, and Bloglovin‘!

Leave a Reply

