Girl Tries Iced Coffee Protein Shake

I’ve never really been one for protein powder. I always figured it was meant for roided-out dudes at the gym, so it never occurred to me that it can be awesome for making healthy shakes that are still filling. I picked up some BioChem Organic Vanilla Whey Protein Powder and got to shakin’.

Originally, I was making shakes with fruit, milk, and protein powder. It was mildly gross. Kinda fruity with an aftertaste of artificial vanilla- blech.

I realized that trying to cover the fake vanilla flavor was like paddling against the tide. Rather, I had to embrace the vanilla flavor and try to play off of it to make something palatable. Thus, the Iced Coffee Protein Shake was born.

As per usual, this is wicked simple. There are 4 basic ingredients:

  1. Some kind of coffee. You can either brew some coffee or espresso like I did. If you know you want to make the shake, toss the brewed coffee/espresso it in the fridge for a while so it’s already cold by the time you blend it up. I would also advise sweetening the espresso while it’s hot, then letting it cool.
  2. Almond milk. I personally like the unsweetened vanilla variety, because it’s dairy free, has a yummy flavor, and is low calorie because there isn’t any added sugar.
  3. Sweetener. I used Sugar in the Raw but you can use Stevia, Honey, Agave Nectar, Splenda, Sugar, etc.
  4. Protein Powder. I went with BioChem Vanilla but you can substitute for a brand/flavor you like!

Iced Coffee Protein Shake Ingredients

Then, toss it in a blender and mix it all together with ice, or just serve over ice. I used my new Ninja Blender (review coming soon!) to make this drink nice and smooth.

Ninja Blender

Voila! Creamy, caffeinated deliciousness with a healthy dose of protein that doesn’t taste like gym socks. Try it out- stay nice and caffeinated all weekend- let me know what you think!

One thought on “Girl Tries Iced Coffee Protein Shake

Leave a Reply

