Girl Tries Painting While Drinking

I really like painting. I find it to be relaxing, fun, and often inspiring.

I feel the same way about drinking.

Naturally, when I found that there are others who feel the same way, I was rather excited. All around the U.S., there are companies who specialize in facilitating group painting sessions that are also either BYO or hosted at a bar. This means that the first half of your painting is going to look stellar, while the second half looks like a drunk toddler did it (because that’s basically what happens).

These classes aren’t too expensive, usually around $40-50 per event, and it can be a great way to bring together your friends, your knitting circle, your estranged relatives, whatever. I chose to go with my boyfriend, who ended up being the only male in a class of 29 women. Poor guy. He handled it like a champ, though many of the women eyed him up and down like a glass of water in the desert.

The way the classes work is you have some super peppy instructor who shows you how to recreate a painting that they’ve already made. They’ll give you paint, walk through everything step by step, and gently remind you that your next bout of inspiration is but a drink away.

I personally did my alcohol-fueled painting through Paint Nite, but there are other franchises that offer the same experience.

All in all, I had a great experience. It was fun, it only took about two hours, and I left with a nice buzz and some cute decor.

Here’s my finished painting in all of it’s glory:

photo 4

Stay in the loop- follow @GirlTriesStuff on Twitter & don’t forget to subscribe!

7 thoughts on “Girl Tries Painting While Drinking

  1. Well that ‘toddler’ must be a regular Rembrandt! Nice job. We have one in our neighborhood. I always see smiling faces with a canvas under one arm and an empty wine bottle under the other one coming out of it. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

